On its beta software upgrades, WhatsApp is always testing and adding new features, some of which modify how group chats operate. The 512-member group size limit and the ability for users to exit WhatsApp groups silently are just two of the many things that the Meta-owned instant messaging service has been trying. Currently, Facebook is apparently developing a feature that allows users of group chats to view every member of the group who has left in the preceding 60 days.
The function was found by WaBetaInfo in the WhatsApp beta for iOS 184.108.40.206. All group members will be able to see who left the group in the past 60 days from the time they are checking, even if WhatsApp rolls out a wider deployment for the functionality allowing users to leave groups silently without informing other users. A user’s name will be erased from the list of previous participants 60 days after they leave a group.
“With the help of this screenshot, you can see that by viewing the new area that will be accessible directly within group info, all group members will be able to see who left the group in the previous 60 days. So, after 60 days, previous participants will no longer be listed. We don’t know when this feature will be launched because it is still in development, according to WABetaInfo’s blog post announcing it.
WhatsApp tested a feature earlier this month that allows users to delete messages they’ve sent up to two days and twelve hours after they’ve been delivered. Messages can only currently be deleted “for everyone” one hour after they are sent.
Prior to then, the instant messaging service had started testing “Voice Status,” which allowed users to record a brief audio note and publish it on their Status tab, similar to how WhatsApp chats allowed users to submit voice notes. The “stories” feature featured on other platforms like Instagram and Snapchat is the WhatsApp app’s equivalent.